The 13th Edition of the Marseille Cosmology Conference Series
8-12 Jul 2019 Marseille (France)

PDF of the talks

Conference talks can be found here:
We have also put all the talks in a single zip file, here:

Scientific Rationale

While large galaxy spectroscopic surveys are now able to probe efficiently the large-scale structures (LSS) at z<2, it remains too costly to probe large area at higher redshift and especially during the epoch of reionization. The key to understand this early epoch might be to focus on the large-scale emission of the intergalactic medium and the collective emission of galaxy interstellar media. This is the aim of the intensity mapping technique that uses large-scale emission of various lines to probe the LSS. This technique can apply to a large variety of tracers from the optical (Lyalpha, Halpha, [NII], [OII], [OIII]) to the 21-cm lines, including the [CII] and CO in the millimeter. Having a clear picture of the spatial distribution in the Universe of these emitters in the next decade will provide invaluable constraints to understand galaxy and LSS evolution.

As first observational results are emerging and a large number of instruments are being built, a large conference promoting greater interconnectivity between cosmologists, LSS and galaxy evolution scientists, observers, modellers and simulators, data analysis and theory, and project planners is essential to build up an active and efficient community to deal with the challenges of the next decades. In 2019, the 13th Edition of the Marseille Cosmology Conference Series will be coupled with the 4th meeting of the intensity mapping conference series. Through sharing the latest results and fostering new connections the goal of the conference is to prepare the community for the emergence of new massive intensity mapping surveys and facilities for many years to come.

Scope of the sessions

ISM and star formation in galaxies

  • ISM from the MW and nearby galaxies: Applicability to high-z galaxies/ISM, in particular in the EoR and the cosmic dawn
  • Star formation at high redshift: how different from low z?
  • Distribution of the dense gas

Gas phase history of the cosmic web

  • CGM and IGM gas properties
    • Lya mapping, Lya forest, HI
  • Emission lines in the cosmic web
  • Role of galaxies and QSOs in reionisation

Interplay between small and large scales

  • Intensity mapping of the reonisation and cosmic dawn
  • Cosmological parameters
  • The potential of cross-correlation 

Realizing the promise of intensity mapping

  • Foreground mitigation and signal extraction methods
  • Experimental developments

For each session, the format would be: Overview (30') + Invited (20') + Contributed talks (15') + Flash talks (5') + Discussion (30')

Practical information


First, create a account (if you don't already have one) by clicking on "Login" on the top right.

Use the "Register" link on the left hand side. Proceed up to the payment page. You will be redirected towards a new page "azur colloque", ingore it as the payment has not been opened as of now!

Key Dates

Abstract submission deadline for contributed talks : 22nd March 2019

Abstract submission deadline for flash talks: 15th May 2019

Registration deadline : 7h June 2019

Contributed talks will be standard 15 minutes talks. Flash talks will be 5 minute talks intended to advertise work and prompt one-on-one discussions in coffee. Note that flash talk speakers are advised to bring further supporting material in the form of slides (personal laptop or paper) to aid potential discussions.


Amphitheatre Gastaut at Pharo.

The conference will start on Monday, at 10:30am and end on Friday at 1pm.


€400 for researchers
€300 for students

This includes three lunches, the conference dinner and a boat cruise of the Calanques. Payment should be made using this link: by 15th June.


Note that participation is by acceptance by the LOC and the SOC.

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Livia Vallini - Leiden University
Pratika Dayal - Kaypten Astronomical Institute
Adam Lidz - University of Pensylvania
Rychard Bouwens - Leiden University
Andrei Mesinger - Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa
Fialkov - Kavli Institute for Cosmology, Cambridge

Abigail Crites - Caltech
Vibor Jelic - Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy
Annie Hughes - IRAP, Toulouse
Matt Mc Quinn - University of Washington
Pierre Ocvirk - Observatoire Astronomique de Strasbourg
Aaron Ewall-Wice - JPL

Science Organising Committee

Guilaine Lagache - Laboratoire d'Astrophysique de Marseille, FR (co-chair)
Tzu-Ching Chang - Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Caltech US (co-chair)
Dominique Aubert  - Strasbourg observatory, FR
Jérome Bobin  - CEA, FR
Andrea Ferrara - Scuola Normale Superiore Pisa, IT
Maryvonne Gérin - Ecole Normale Supérieure, LERMA, FR
Leon Koopmans - Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, NL
Martin White - UC Berkeley Astronomy, US
Laura Wolz - University of Melbourne, AU

Local Organising Committee

Matthieu Bethermin (chair)
Alexandre Beelen (co-chair)
Yixian Cao
Vincent Le Brun
Abhishek Maniyar
Florence Roman

Financial Partners


Résultat de recherche d'images pour "labex OCEVU logo"

Online user: 2 RSS Feed